Portrait Sculpting

As part of my Creative Futures module, I am trying to improve my anatomy drawings skills. Since this gives me a better understanding of how the face shapes together with the different bones I also thought it would be good to try and use these skills to create characters face in sculptures. For this task, I used one of my drawings of the another member in my group as well as just by looking at him.

I then had a go at creating a self-sculpt of myself concentrating mainly on the face shape and features rather than things such as the hair. When doing this I found that I was certainly creating a realistic and proportionate head, however, I was struggling to find a likeness. The main problem I found was the shape of the nose. I couldn’t quite create the correct shape for the nostrils of the nose as they kept looking flailed and too far off of the face.

First Attempt.png

Comparing this to my previous attempts at character modelling, my sensei in the Creative Futures Boxer project, I can see that I have certainly improved in the overall shape of the face. With my sensei, I was happy that he was old as it meant that I didn’t have to do hair. When doing hair with this project I felt like I didn’t d too much of a bad jump as the person’s hair was wild and crazy so it didn’t have to be precise and combed.

Sensei Model

One thought on “Portrait Sculpting

Leave a Reply

