Mini Brief: Pride and Joy Concept

Brief

The aim of this brief is to create either a hanger, a garage, or a dock with a relevant vehicle shown taken apart, being repaired. For example, for the change, a jet would be a good choice. As well as this a pet must by shown near or on the vehicle, awaiting the return of the owner. The environment must be cluttered with things found in that place as well as show the personality of the owner and as if it has been life half way through repairing the vehicle. The final outcome would be in the form of a 3D model. Not only was this project about expressing my perspective skills but also about give a narrative to a piece so that it gives a backstory or a reason on why it is designed that way.

Thumbnails

To start off my sketches I drew small little thumbnails of different ideas for this brief. This included different environments as well as different vehicles. I also wanted to try drawing different perspectives. Even though I can change the perspective when on the 3D side of this project I felt like doing this would give me a better understanding of how I wanted it to look as well as what items looked best where.

Final Idea and Sketches

These thumbnails gave me lots of different ideas which I could then use to start my initial sketches. I decided that I wanted to proceed with the garage task for this project and started drawing the different props commonly seen in this place as well as the possible vehicle that could be placed in the garage. I went out and got the reference from my garage of what the environment would look like when it has not been kept looked after. I finally decided that I wanted a Baja as a vehicle in my garage and that it would be on a car lift so that it was more convincing and that parts could be removed from the vehicle.

Perspective

I also decided on a perspective for my final render after drawing multiple different angles of the garage. This would then be shown in the final render of my environment. When deciding my perspective I took the rule of thirds into consideration. I know that my Baja would be in the centre of the garage meaning that the final render had to be from a diagonal so that it would position the Baja at one side and still show lots of props.

Photo Bashing

To help me visualise my final outcome I went into photoshop and made a photobash which included the basic elements that would make up my garage. I tried to do this in the perspective which I had decided upon so that it would give me a clearer understanding of how the final render would look and what props would be visible. When doing this I found that I had to change the shape of the garage as the shelves could not be seen, therefore I moved them on the back wall so that they could include more props.

Garage Photobash

Grey blocking

Before creating my 3d render I went into SketchUp and blocked out the environment including where I would roughly like the props to go so that the filled out space. As well as this I was also able to use the label tool in Sketchup so that I could easily see what each prop was meant to be and where it was meant to be.

3ds Max

Using my sketches I then went into 3ds Max and began modelling. I started off with the vehicle as this is the largest and the focus of the render. I created all different props which would be commonly seen in a garage such as a workbench, a toolbox, and storage boxes. These props would also be duplicated to fill out more of the space of the garage. The pet I decided on was a cat as they are known to linger and considered loving. This would help with adding to the narrative of my piece.

Narrative

For my garage I wanted it to appear as if the owner had been working on the Baja but was unable to complete it and had not done for some time. Shown by the accumulation of different tools and boxes. To help with this I added a plate of food half was eaten and a drink to show that the owner had suddenly left and never returned. This is further shown by the cat as he appears to be laid down under the Baja, waiting for the return of the owner.

Environment

When adding the props to my environment I noticed that the position of some of the objects had to different from my grey blocking so that they were either visible in the final render or so that they looked like they belonged. I decided not to include some of the props such as the lights and the generator as the position of them would not be in the final render. Also since I knew that I wanted the render to appear as if the sunlight was entering through the garage door I felt like I didn’t need to make the light as it would not be on.  I also used a debris maker script so that I could include leaves which appeared to have blown in from the front door. Making the garage look dirty and unused.

Final Render

My final render used lights to give the effect of sunlight entering from the exterior and was then rendered using a camera positioned in the place I decided in my sketching stage of the project. This also helped give light on the props at the back of the garage which are less visible The final render ended up being a slightly different perspective to what I originally decided upon as a realized that a lot of the props and the door could not be seen in that view.

Final Render

Presentation

With my final render, I wanted to create a presentation sheet, similarly to what I have done with my past projects. This will allow a viewer to easily see how I got from the beginning to the end of this project. It also showed everything neatly and only contained relevant information, including what added to the narrative.

Pride and Joy Development Sheet

Evaluation

For this project, I paced myself well making sure I had the relevant sketches completed before moving into the 3d so that it would make it easier for me to imagine the final render and know what would be in my final environment. This is certainly one of my favourite pieces that I have done so far, as I have paid more attention to detail making sure that it contained lots of props that filled out the entirety of the area yet didn’t look out of place. Even tho the final piece of this project was a render I’m glad that I created a presentation sheet as it matches the recent projects I have done and helps me to maintain a theme. This is beneficial for me in my portfolio.

 

 

One thought on “Mini Brief: Pride and Joy Concept

Leave a Reply

