3ds Max: Improved Props

To help with my skills in 3DS Max I wanted to go back and revisit some of the props that I made in the first semester. Instead of going straight into the 3D software I began this small project by drawing out the props I wanted to create. This way I could break them down into the key component as well as visualise them in perspective.

Cart

The first prop that I decided to create was the cart as this was one of the first 3D props that I made. I began by drawing out the cart in perspective as well as breaking it down it to its components. This was fairly simple as it was mainly made up of boxes.

Scan_20170330 (8).png

IN 3D I could easily create this and since last time I have learned lots of new techniques that meant I could make it more realistic. This included the bend modifier. I tried to include more detail with this version and think about how it fits together. For example, I created individual planks that make up the cart as well as the wooden planks that lay underneath the cart, connecting it all together. With the first attempt at this I simply placed the wheels on the side but with this version, i connected them to the under the beam.

Final Render.png

Shield

Similar to the cart I also recreated the square shield that I did about also decided that this would b e more of my own design rather than from a reference. I drew out the shield in the shape that I wanted it to be as well as with all the components that would make this up.

Scan_20170330 (9).png

I think that my first shield wasn’t too bad considering I just started, however, this version looked more polished and professional. It may differ a lot from the original design however I like this as it is more of my design rather than just copying from an image. I’m glad I decided to redo these props as I feel like ti helps show my progression. This is something I will then do again in the future to show more improvement.

Shield.png

One thought on “3ds Max: Improved Props

Leave a Reply

