Mini Brief: Final Bridge Idea and Concept

Looking at all of the development work and ideas that I had gained from my experimentation I was able to decide on a final idea. I expanded on my previous medieval design so that It felt more finished. To help me with the final concept I also did a sketch to give me an idea of the what it would look like. Just in case I also wanted to experiment with the textures as I wanted it to be obvious that this bridge was made of stone, assuring that the theme was medieval. I decided that the narrative of this bridge was going to be that it was an entrance to a castle, possibly with an evil presence. I got this idea from the large intimidating structure of the pillar that acts as an entrance to the bridge. This was influenced by the previous research that I did on Wanbao showing the huge structure towering over the rest of the environment.

After finishing my sketches I went into Sketchup so that I could easily create a simple model of my bridge which gave me the correct perspective of my bridge. In my earlier stages of this project during my experimentation, I used photo bashing and I felt like this would also be a good time to do this. I used this method to gain the shape of the castle as well as the textures for the background items. The reason that I decided to do lava underneath the bridge rather than just water was because I wanted it to feel dangerous and was influenced to do this from my experimentation that I did when I was using the lasso technique to come up with different concepts for the bridge.

Due to the narrative that I decided I feel like this concept could work extremely well in all different types of games, the best being a role playing game. Due to the fact that I made the narrative a dangerous place where evil lurks, I feel like this would be the setting or entrance way to a boss fight. The intimidating structure and ‘trapped’ feel that this gives you, since the bridge is the only way in or out, gives the player an idea of what is about to follow.

Evaluation

In this project, I feel like I have looked more into my subject then I have done in the past and certainly experimented with different ideas before committing to the final idea. For the final concept, I felt like the photo bash and Sketchup technique was the most beneficial to me as it was simple, quick and allowed me to gain the basic outline for my image. Other techniques I used such as the Lasso tool and the drawing Pareidolia were more beneficial in the earlier stages of this project when I was experimenting and expanding Ideas as they allowed me to create Ideas that were unique and not influenced by previous bridges and pieces of artwork that I have seen. The final concept may not be the best that I have created but I wanted to make sure that I used new techniques in this one. The photo bash worked well with gaining the outline of the castle and the grassland, however, I feel like with the lava it looks odd and more like cheese than lava.

One thought on “Mini Brief: Final Bridge Idea and Concept

Leave a Reply

