Presentation: Experimenting with Rendering

To improve my presentation in showing off my work that I create in 3D I practised rendering the model using different approaches. I experimented with the materials, trying to find a colour which made the model clearly visible and eye-catching but still subtle enough so that the details can be seen. For example, I wouldn’t use bright pink as this would be unbearable to view.

I also used various different lighting techniques which involved me changing the position of the lights as well as changing a number of lights on the model. For the background I originally used a chambered cube, however, this showed a crease line, therefore I then decided to use a cylinder as this would give me a smooth background. The smooth background was necessary so that the shadows cast from the model, showing the depth of the model.

Finally, I multiplied the model and rotated it so that I could then create a final render showing the prop in all angles. Then I changed the background colour for this render so that the model clearly stood out from it and so that if I wanted to I could remove it entirely in Photoshop. This was then taken to Photoshop so that I could create a professional design sheet to show off my model.

iron-concept-sheet

Practising rendering has given me a better understanding of the better ways to present my work in the best lighting as well as the best materials. Comparing the final render to the first render that I did I can clearly see the different in presentation as the colours appear more uniform and show that the model is finished whereas the multiple colours of the first render make it look like a work in progress piece.

 

One thought on “Presentation: Experimenting with Rendering

Leave a Reply

