Character Expressions

Expanding further with my character design I decided to have a go at creating character expressions. I did this by first drawing simple ovals and then contour lines which gave the roundness of the shape and showed me where the features should go. I did this so that I could make it appear as if the character was either looking to the left or right or up or down. I tried to make these look as similar to my game character as possible however in some of the expressions I feel like this is less obvious.

Reflecting on this I feel like the technique of using guidelines that show the direction of the face is something that helped me a lot and allowed me to easily position the features quickly. This is something that I will use more in the future when designing characters.

fullsizerender-1

 

One thought on “Character Expressions

Leave a Reply

