Environment Storyboard: Vehicles and Environment

Moving on from the creatures I started to create some of the vehicles hats would appear in the animatic. Soe fo these were extremely simple as they are defined by their features and have to be created in a certain way. This was the train and the Skyrail. However, apart from the text says ‘ clumsy golems’ and ‘ leather wings’. This gave me lots of different ideas and I thought the typical golem would look odd and out of place. Therefore since my city is slightly futuristic I decided that the golem would simply be a man-made vehicle. The first design was a crude flying machine made from wood. This could be shown flying or on the ground with the students surrounding it and bottles around it.My other design was to simply have a leather winged glider that would fly across the sky. I personally preferred this design as I felt like it was more unique and that the golem term applied more. The aerostat was another fairly simple design which had t be a specific shape to look like what it is meant to be. However, to add my own design to it I merged it with a blimp, adding a deck to the blimp on the underside as well as propellers.

After finishing the vehicles I then began to create the specific buildings and environment that are mentioned in the text. The first I created was the mountains to the west. This was a simple creation as I simply drew triangles in a condensed area and the decorated them with snow, lodges and rocks, and they were complete. I then create another floating island that would have the parliament buildings and the organic weapon. The second I read the ‘organic weapon’ line I thought that it would be a good idea for the weapon itself to be a plant. Therefore I decided that one of the tall buildings on this island would have the plant wrapped around it with a snapper at the end.

The boiler room and the office are the only interior space which the text mentions, therefore these would be the only interior rooms that I have to create. The boiler room would be simple and simple have generators and boilers so that it is straight t the point. However for the offices I , at first, struggled with what to add. The line ‘droning bores’ gave me the idea to add lots of people to this room wandering around looking lifeless, as if they are actually drones.

 

One thought on “Environment Storyboard: Vehicles and Environment

Leave a Reply

