Character Design: Robot Patrol Guard

For one of the main characters in my game, I wanted to create a patrol guard. This character may not be a character that has had dialogue or influence on the story but it affects the environment and will be a repeatable character that is seen everywhere.

I started off this design by creating silhouettes at random which formed multiple different characters. The reason I did this was because of the previous research that I did and I wanted to make sure the robots had iconic features which would be recognizable to the player. After this was done I then found two of the designs that I felt I could develop. I did this by drawing the designs in detail and of all four sides of the robot. I also thought about the functionality of the robot when designing this and made sure things such as cables and pistons could be seen.

The first design gained inspiration from the human skeleton in the shape of the head as it is very defined and a unique shape. I then used claptrap from the borderlands game as inspiration for the way that the robot would travel around, and this would be using a wheel. For the second design, I gained inspiration from multiple sources. The first is the initial shape and movement of the robot. This was based on the robot EVE from the movie Walle and the fact the robot floats around and because of this only has a torso. To appeal to the theme of the game I wanted the design to feel like it was ancient and survived for centuries and I did this by designing the head to appear more like ancient armor which had been modified with cables and antennas to work as the helmet.

Looking back at this work that I created I realize that another method I could have used to create the robot would have been Paradolia since this would give me unique shapes that have not be seen before.  My next step with these designs will be to take them into photoshop and create multiple different variants of the textured robots.

 

Leave a Reply

