Game Adaptation Concept: Exterior

For this task I had to create a piece of concept art of an exterior of a building. I decided to do an Aztec style temple that would be in the Atlantis like city part of my game and also give it features of the environment. This included things such as a path, street lamps, and even a fountain.

Similarly to the burger shack piece I started off creating a Aztec temple on Sketchup using reference material that I found off of google. Once this was done I then used the 3D warehouse to add in other items like the fountain and street lamps. As well as this I wanted it to feel like no one had been their in a long time, I did this by adding bushing around the temple that had overgrown and rubble scattered around covering parts of the path and grass. I then took this into Photoshop and added colour to it. Instead of going for the realistic colour of the Aztec temple I decided to give it a more eastern clean look by using yellow which made it look like sandstone. I then repeated the process I used before of using the burn and dodge tool and all the parts of the environment to add depth and make it look worn rather then brand new and untouched.

Leave a Reply

