3D and Perspective Drawing

For today’s lesson we learnt how to make drawings on paper look 3D. We did this by using shadows, shading, and dotted lines. We practiced using circles, the shadow would be a distorted version of it that appeared on one side of looking as if the light was coming from the other side.The shading would also give the same effect as it would be added on one side to show that the light is not hitting that part of the sphere. I found that the dotted lines gave the best illusion of the 3D shape.  It was also useful in cutting shapes out of the sphere, for example in physics books when it shows the layers of the earth. This was done using cured lines and also drawing what they would look like on the back side of the sphere. With these lines it was easy to draw the cut out from it. Another task that we did using the contour lines was to draw a random shape and make it look 3D.

After this was done we then moved on to perspective drawing using an horizon line and vanishing points. I felt like this was very beneficial to me in improving my drawing skills as it gave me a better understanding for how environments look. This task was done by drawing a straight line, known as the horizon line, then adding 2 vanishing points. I decided where I wanted the cube to be and drew straight lines from both of the vanishing points. This allowed me to draw a cube in the correct proportion.

Finally after I practiced this I then wanted to recreate a street as part of an environment. I used one vanishing point and created an ally in perspective. The aim was not to add detail but to add all the main features such as windows and doors in the correct proportion. Since my aim is to become an environment artist I felt like this was important in helping me to further my understanding of 3D environments.

Leave a Reply

